Nexus S 4G Root

Posted: October 25, 2011 in Android, Nexus S 4G
Tags: , ,

So I just got a Nexus S 4G.  I know I am little behind since the Galaxy Nexus is right around the corner but everyone has to start somewhere.  This would be my 3rd “Experience” device to date.  I have the OG, XOOM and Nexus S4G.  I really wanted to try out google wallet but enough about that, this is about rooting the Nexus S 4G.

The first thing you need is ADB with fastboot.  You can get the android SDK here: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Fastboot is not in the SDK and will need to be downloaded separately.  You can find the links at the bottom of the post.

Next I took a backup because fastboot will erase your device.  Plug the phone in and turn on USB Storage.  Copy everything to a folder somewhere on your computer.

Next we are going to to the step to unlock the bootloader.  THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY.

The drivers should be in the SDK.  On my Windows 7 Pro x64 box I had to go into the device manager and install the device.  I am not sure why it did not add itself but I assume it was the driver signing that is built into Windows 7 Pro.  This also was troublesome on Windows XP.  There are lot of posts about going to get the PDAnet installer for the proper driver.  You do not need to do this if you manually choose the driver and get it installed.

I have the USB Driver Version 4 from the API13 of the SDK.  Since this is a gingerbread phone I would think the drivers are in API10 but I have not had a chance to try that yet.  I also believe r10 will update the USB driver the Version 4 as well.

Find the drivers using choose and select Android Bootloader for the android 1.0 driver

Open a command prompt where you have ADB and fastboot.  You will also want to make sure all of the files you download for this process are in the folder with fastboot and ADB.  I usually copy the files I will be working with and then when I am done with them I delete them from that folder.

Issue the command: adb reboot bootloader

The phone will then reboot to a screen with Andy on it and some options to reboot bootloader recovery etc.

If you do not have fast boot you will find it on the bottom of this along with the other links.  Extract the fasboot.exe file to the patform-tools folder wherever your sdk is.

Issue the command: fastboot oem unlock

Issue the command: fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.0.2.0-crespo4g.img

Now you can use the volume down button to select recovery and then press the power button.

This should boot you into ClockWorkMod Recovery.

Again we will use the volume rocker to navigate and the power button to make selections.

The first thing we need to do is mount the device’s storage.  Highlight mounts and storage and press the power button. Then mount USB storage and copy the GWK74ODEXED.zip file to the device.  Once you have done this you can unmount the storage and go back to the main menu.

We are going to install zip from sdcard and then choose zip from sdcard.  Select the GWK74 file you just copied and then choose yes and wait for it to finish installing.  Once completed choose reboot now.

Links:

All of the files I have hosted on my site to make them easier to get to and so that I can track downloads.  I am not taking credit for any of the files creation.  A big thank you goes out to Koush for making the recovery and the awesome work he does.  Another big thank you goes our to Pete Alfonso for his work as well.  You can find more information about each of them at the following sites.
This post will probably be updated with a few photos and some tweaks made please leave your comments if you run into any issues and I will help you through them.
Comments
  1. […] CWM and SU etc. I have a post on my blog as well that contains all of the links that should help Nexus S 4G Root StrifeJester's Rants __________________ League Of Legends. DoTA… only free, click here to get started. My new […]

  2. […] If you need help using fastboot to install the recovery head over here to read the post on my blog that has the download links and instructions. Nexus S 4G Root StrifeJester's Rants […]

Leave a Reply

