Did Jelly Bean break your latitude sharing on Google Maps?

Posted: July 27, 2012 in Android, Apps, Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 7, Nexus S 4G, XOOM
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I was a victim to clicking through things too fast and was recently greeted with a blank friends list when I pulled my phone out the other day to see if my wife had made it where she was going.  The version of maps that is running on devices with Jelly Bean such as the Nexus 7 is different than what is currently running on 4.0.4.  If you did what I did and un-checked the wrong box you can actually mess up friends for all other mobile devices and even using a browser.  Instructions on how to get your Friend List back after the break.

That is the location settings screen that you see when using Maps on Jelly Bean, or version 6.9.2.  Whereas 6.9.0 is the current version running on a Verizon Galaxy Nexus for those wondering.

You will notice report from this device and enable location sharing. They must appear exactly how I have them in the screen shot otherwise no other device will have your Friends List.  I had un-checked both boxes because I didn’t want my tablet to update my location after my phone did and keep bouncing me between places.  There was a good post on the Google Maps product forum that explained this as well.  I was unable to find anything on the Latitude settings area using Chrome that would allow me to enable this from a browser.  Currently it looks like only the version of Maps on Jelly Bean has this option.

Step-by-Step

  1. Open Maps on your Nexus 7 or other device. (I have only tested this first hand on the Nexus 7 and anyone with other devices please feel free to chime in)
  2. Press the Menu button
  3. From the main settings screen tap Location settings
  4. If you do not want your Nexus 7 to update your location in the background un-check Report from this device
  5. Enable location Sharing must remain checked in order for latitude to work on other devices and in the browser

That should be all there is to making sure your Latitude Friends List shows back up on your phone and in the browser.  If you tried Jelly Bean on a device and changed this setting but are now running something else the only fix I know of currently is to go back to Jelly Bean and make sure you have this version of maps installed to fix the issue.  Hopefully Google pushes an update to Maps in the near future that will add this to all device.

 

Leave a Reply

