Uninstall Touch Tunes App

Posted: October 20, 2014 in Android, Apps
Tags: , , ,

I throw in a few dart leagues over the winter and because of that I am in bars a few days a week to go along with that. Many bars now have the Touch Tunes Jukebox. This was a nice addition when it first started becoming popular because if the bar allowed it to be internet connected then you could download a song on the fly if it wasn’t on the machine already. They also accept credit card on a lot of them allowing you to buy credits up front that are good on any jukebox that you go to. It can also store your favorite songs so that with a few quick taps you can play your favorite songs wherever you are. Great thing to have except what I noticed today after 7 hours mostly spent in meetings that my phone was dead.

The application was last updated on October 3rd and I am writing this on the 20th. I got out of my meetings for that day and say that my phone was at 3%. I thought this was kind of strange since my phone sat in my pocket for 5 hours and any notifications I looked at was via my Moto 360 so there was some Bluetooth communication but nothing that I thought would have drained the battery that fast. I went into to check the battery and saw that Touch Tunes had drained 35% of my battery. I love apps that save a few seconds here and there and must admit the Touch Tunes app was kind of cool to show off at a bar. Even with it saving me a few seconds here and there it is not worth having to bring a charger into my meeting with me.

I don’t recall setting any type of push notifications or any other settings in the app that would cause it to run 24/7. I like time saving but hate when things run that have no business running. In my opinion this app should only ever run on demand. There is no reason a jukebox control app needs to run in the background collecting data about my GPS location. Below are the permissions for the app. I have no idea why it would need to read my web bookmarks and history. The app will find your friends if they are “checked in” to a jukebox so that one is understandable but still I am not a fan of it. Location settings are used to know where you are and send the information back making it easier to find the jukebox in the bar you are at or to even find other places that have a Touch Tunes enabled jukebox. Why does it need to read my call log? Reading media is used to create a list of songs already on your device so that you can find that favorite track on your device and fire it up for everyone to hear. I am not clear on the test access to protected storage though. The other category is far too large. Run at startup and a few of the others I would need some clarity on. Is “modify system settings” required to turn on my WiFi? All in all if you have this app I would recommend uninstalling it if you value your battery life and privacy.

If they ever fix these issues I may re-install the app but in all honesty this has left a sour taste in my mouth and I will go back to the old standard of walking up to the jukebox, inserting my dollars and picking what I want to hear.

Version 2.13.1.21 can access:
Device & app history
  • read your Web bookmarks and history
Identity
  • find accounts on the device
Contacts/Calendar
  • read your contacts
Location
  • approximate location (network-based)
  • precise location (GPS and network-based)
Phone
  • read call log
Photos/Media/Files
  • test access to protected storage
  • modify or delete the contents of your USB storage
Wi-Fi connection information
  • view Wi-Fi connections
Device ID & call information
  • read phone status and identity
Other
  • receive data from Internet
  • read battery statistics
  • run at startup
  • modify system settings
  • full network access
  • connect and disconnect from Wi-Fi
  • control vibration
  • prevent device from sleeping
  • view network connections
Leave a Reply

